Xavier Phillips, Matteo Goffriller, 1710

Having been accompanied by these Studies ever since I was a kid, I have never considered David Popper as a hangman. On the contrary I have always felt this composer was passionate and lucid when he composed these Studies.

Study 33 : the difficulties seem to lie in the left hand (swift shiftings, broken arpeggios), but the legato of the bow requires a fundamental concentration since it allows us to support the latter in this trick riding endurance test ! Like Piatti's 3rd Capriccio, this study which is considered by students as scarecrow can also provide us with a lovely musical experience if we take the time to achieve it.

Study : 14 Even the violinists admit that staccato performing is not an easy job, and although it it is natural to performing it down the bow, Popper requires to perform them up as well as down the bow. This creates a challenge if we want to keep light. (Another solution lies in drinking a lot of coffee).

Xavier Phillips, Matteo Goffriller, 1710

Accompagné depuis l'enfance par ces études, je n’ai jamais perçu David Popper comme un "bourreau", bien au contraire, j'ai toujours eu le sentiment, chez cet auteur, d'une grande passion pour son instrument et d'une certaine "ludicité" dans ses études...

La 33: les difficultés semblent venir de la main gauche (déplacements rapides, arpèges brisés) mais le travail du legato de l’archet est fondamental car il permet de soutenir ladite main gauche dans cette épreuve de haute voltige! Véritable épouvantail à concours (à l'instar du 3e caprice de Piatti), cette étude peut être aussi un joli moment de musique...si l'on s'en donne la peine!

La 14 : Le staccato n’est pas une chose aisée, (même les violonistes le disent !) et si le mouvement  naturel est  de la pointe vers le  talon (gravité oblige), Popper demande tout autant de staccato tiré que de poussé. Défi d’équilibre entre maîtrise et lâcher prise obligatoire si on veut un résultat aérien…l’autre solution consiste à boire beaucoup de café !