Sung won Yang,  Giovanni Grancino, 1697

I used to practise or teach Popper's Studies during a long time. When coming back to them, I felt as if I was watching old photographs of myself when I was a kid. May I add that I had the privilege of being the pupil of Starker, thanks to whom the name of Popper now sounds as familiar as the one of a remote parent.

As far as the 16th Study is concerned , I would like to suggest to practise it on double strings, especially in the thumb positions, to watch out the various intervals, while being careful about similar notes played in various octaves. Besides, if you remember that Popper surnamed it Capriccioso, you must be careful about the pulsations and the shadings when playing the triplets.

In 32nd Study , do not play the first two notes too loud. Learn how to play in tune in spite of the interference of the staccato, and, if possible, on double strings. From the 9th to the 14th beat, the low notes create the harmonic bass of the following notes, so listen to them as references.

Sung won Yang,  Giovanni Grancino, 1697

David Popper est un compositeur avec qui j'ai été longtemps associé, en les jouant ou les enseignant. Relire les partitions anciennes de Popper est un peu comme si je regardais à travers les vieilles photos de moi-même grandissant, et bien sûr avoir eu le privilège d'étudier avec Janos Starker, à travers qui le nom de Popper, maintenant, semble aussi familier qu'un nom d'un parent lointain.

N ° 16, je voudrais suggérer de travailler en double cordes, surtout en position du pouce, faire attention aux intervalles diminués et augmentés, tout en veillant aux  mêmes notes à des octaves différentes. L'archet doit avoir une pulsation et des nuances claires dans les triolets, sans oublier qu'au début Popper a écrit Capriccioso !

N ° 32, attention de ne pas jouer plus fort les deux premières notes qui sont liées. Travailler la justesse sans le staccato et si possible en doubles cordes. De la mesure 9 à 14, les notes basses indiquent la base harmonique des notes suivantes donc bien les écouter comme référence.