Anne Gastinel, Testore, 1690


Popper's Studies used to be my companions during a long time, a recollection which is both joyful and painful.

  Of course, some of them were more funny than others. I have stil kept the MC ….edition.... of that time, and they are covered with remarks from my various teachers, about the tempi, the accuracy of the intonation, « don't break your third finger », « lift your left elbow », etc.

These Studies are still part of my daily life, in my own practising as well as my teaching activities. They have always particularly inspired me, from a musical as well as from an instrumental view point.

I have chosen to register two very different Studies : the 15th and the 37th ones. In number 15, there are several difficulties : you have to link notes while bowing and spick them when you push up your bow . I always noticed that my students start picking too early : when you have to play two linked notes before picking one, you have to be careful not to lift your bow too early ; otherwise, the second note disappears. To my mind, this is an essential point when you practise this Study. Besides it is important to spend much time practising the shiftings of the left hand ; even when you play slowly, you have to shift your left hand quickly. Another difficulty lies in the double strings of the end : be careful to focus on the lower string which is always the one which sounds out of tune. And lastly, never forget your metronome. And PLAY MUSIC (lights and shades, rubatos, etc.)

Like many other ones Studies, the 37th Study is particularly focused on on the difficulty of pungency. The best way to practise this is to focus on the latter, playing very slowly while concentrating on their articulations and. I mean to practise them very slowly while exeggerating the articulations and and insisting on the first note of each group. Then you can gradually fasten the tempo. AND PLAY MUSIC !

Anne Gastinel, Testore, 1690

 

Les études de Popper m’ont accompagnée durant de longues années.

 Souvenirs à la fois joyeux et douloureux. Evidemment, certaines étant plus amusantes que d’autres !!

 J’ai encore en main mon édition IMC de l’époque, remplie d’annotions de mes différents professeurs. Indications de tempi, passages entourés pour la justesse ou l’articulation, « ne pas casser 3ème doigt », « lever coude gauche » etc etc…

Ces études font toujours partie de mon quotidien ; dans mon travail personnel et avec mes étudiants. Je les apprécie particulièrement, tant musicalement qu’instrumentalement. Bref, j’aime toujours les travailler et les faire travailler !!

 

J’ai choisi d’enregistrer deux études très différentes l’une de l’autre, la 15 et la 37.

La 15 réunit plusieurs difficultés. Difficulté d’archet car opposition de liaison en tirant et piqué en poussant. Je remarque toujours chez mes étudiants une erreur qui est de piquer avant le piqué…je m’explique: lorsque nous devons jouer deux notes liées suivies d’une note piquée, il s’agit de faire attention à ne pas soulever l’archet avant la note piquée ; sinon la deuxième note liée « disparait ». C’est un point essentiel à mes yeux dans le travail de cette étude. Ensuite, passer beaucoup de temps sur les déplacements de main gauche, assez inhabituels dans cette tonalité ; déplacements rapides, même dans le travail lent…Autre difficulté aussi : les doubles cordes de la fin…à travailler comme toutes doubles cordes : travailler beaucoup le « bas » tout seul…c’est presque toujours à cause de lui qu’elles sont fausses !! Enfin, ne jamais oublier son métronome !! ET FAIRE DE LA MUSIQUE (nuances, rubato etc…) !!!

La 37, comme beaucoup de ces études, cible en particulier une difficulté. Il s’agit là des mordants. La manière la plus efficace pour moi de les travailler est d’insister sur l’articulation de ceux-ci. Les travailler donc très lentement en exagérant l’articulation ; et en insistant sur la première note du groupe. Puis monter le tempo petit à petit, des mordants et des doubles croches… ET FAIRE DE LA MUSIQUE !!!